thehalfassvegan

Just another WordPress.com site

And So It Begins September 19, 2011

Filed under: Main — thehalfassvegan @ 4:52 am

Last week, Matt told me he wanted to watch a movie on Netflix. I was thinking action, comedy, maybe even a romance. Nope. Documentary. That’s okay. We like documentaries so even though it wasn’t what I was hoping for, I was game.

“Forks Over Knives.” I’d never heard of it but halfway through I thought, “Sh…oot! He’s going to want to do this!” The film advocates a whole foods, plant-based diet. Matt has a family history of heart disease and eating WFPB would supposedly reverse the effects of heart-clogging tendencies. But I like a good juicy steak. And ice cream. And sugar. Even though I know I should eat healthier at times, I generally eat things in moderation. Good, right? But how do you argue with a husband that just wants to live longer to be with you? Cute, huh? Although the next day he said, “I never thought that maybe you actually just wanted some time to yourself after I died.” Ha! Nah. I’ll keep him around for as long as I can.

So, here we go. A semi-experiment. I say semi-experiment because come to find out, the meat eaters are over here on one end, then come the vegetarians, then the vegans, then the WFPB folks. I don’t know about no refined sugars at all. What am I going to do with my stockpile of brownie mixes? Vegan is closer but personally, I still want some occasional ice cream and whatnot. In fact, I’ll be honest, I’m probably going to cheat. And I’m okay with that. But, as Matt pointed out, I tend to do the groceries and the *cough* cooking (if you count grilling and microwaving cooking) so if he’s going to do it, he needs me. Well, that’s what it sounded like and I like to feel needed (most of the time) so, onward.

The game plan is this: Eat as close to vegan as possible. This should be just enough to piss off our meat-eating family and not quite enough so that we end up pissing off real live vegans (not on purpose but it’s bound to happen).

This blog is to chronicle the adventure and keep track of the recipes I like, the recipes that make me want to eat a whole tub of ice cream to make up for lack of flavor and what we learn along the way. I ordered two cookbooks online and looked up a couple of recipes as well. Flipping through the book that came on Friday, two recipes stuck out: Lentil Loaf and Lima Bean Surprise. Wow. The first sounds like the fruitcake of the vegan world where you show up to a party and say, “Thanks for inviting me. I brought you this delicious Lentil Loaf to show my gratitude.” “Uh, thanks?” And the latter…I don’t typically like surprises in my food and if there is one, I don’t want it to be a lima bean. (Lima bean! That’s another great option for Bohnanza! Why didn’t they use it? You’ll understand if you’ve played this game. If not, just move on.)

Here’s what I know thus far. I don’t like spice but I do like flavor. Matt doesn’t like mushrooms. Spice and mushrooms appear to be two main ingredients to make these recipes fly. Shoot.

Here’s what I don’t know. Everything else.

I’ve tried three recipes thus far. Squash Enchiladas (thanks, Aunt Dawn!), Vegetable Curry and Acorn Squash something or other (thanks, Kira!). Two hits, one meh. Thankfully the meh was from the Internet and not a relative. Maybe it won’t be as bad as I thought.

But either way, I remain,

-The Half-Ass Vegan

 

4 Responses to “And So It Begins”

  1. Clarence Dykhouse Says:

    Hmmmmmm. I dough nooooooo??? Got any steaks you need eating up???
    Sounds kinda radical to me. Hmmmmm.

  2. Stephanie Welch Says:

    Your story is our exact story down to Matt being the one to convince us to watch this documentary. For the rest of the story, switch “Kari” to “Ken” and switch “Matt” to “Steph” and you have basically described life in the Welch household. Turns out us Dykhouses are much the same. I am siding with Matt on most of these small disagreements you have had 🙂

  3. Cindi Veenstra Says:

    Pretty radical indeed! Good thing I don’t watch many movies!! 🙂 Hope you are able to balance!

  4. I love the name of your blog! I am looking forward to reading about your adventure. I will send you some recipes and blogs for inspiration. And the trick to Lentil Loaf is walnuts and BBQ sauce. 🙂


Leave a Reply

