thehalfassvegan

Just another WordPress.com site

Lentil Next Time September 23, 2011

Filed under: Main — thehalfassvegan @ 5:02 pm

Well, it’s been an interesting week. I started off with a two for three record. I scrambled to eat the leftovers of the squash enchiladas and there weren’t any leftovers from the acorn squash. The rest of this week has fallen pretty squarely in the “meh” category. (With one colossal flop.) Here are the major hurdles I’ve encountered:

1. I like butter. We’re not talking sticks but a couple of pats go a long way. It’s technically a no-no (enter cheat number one).

2.  I like flavor. Is that too much to ask?

3. I like cheese. It goes along with number two. Again, it’s worth the occasional cheat but it kind of defeats the purpose of the experiment if I dump a whole bag of shredded cheese on top.

This week also brought two new-to-me ingredients into play: lentils and tofu. The lentils and I had it out. We fought back and forth and I’m not sure who won. You be the judge (see photos below). I’m not sure we really understand each other yet. Maybe I’m just not a lentil girl. When I went to the store to buy the tofu, I had to ask where it was. I then wanted to explain that I wasn’t one of those granola-eating, tree-hugging hippies. But then I thought, “Shoot! Maybe I am one!” Not exactly, but it did take getting over my ego a bit to actually buy tofu. And it wasn’t as bad as I thought. Granted, it was pureed and well-hidden in the Spinach-Noodle Kugel. (One idea that arose for a post title was “Kugel Exercise.” I won’t say who suggested it but it wasn’t me and it wasn’t Peter.)

Below are the recipes I’ve tried thus far. I’m leaving out the lentil recipe because a) it‘s from a family member and b) it was fraught with user-errors and completely flopped. Perhaps pink lentils and regular lentils are not interchangeable.

Lentil next time,

The Half-Ass Vegan

P.S. The recipes didn’t get saved or something. Maybe I’ll post them later….

 

 

One Response to “Lentil Next Time”

  1. Gina Wolf Says:

    Kari you crack me up with your write ups. You are braver than I am, meat I could do with out most the time but not dairy.


Leave a Reply

